Living life in two different worlds

Harvest is OVER!

photo

Tuesday was such a wonderful day for everyone at Bowman Farms. Harvest has finally ended which is one of the most exciting things a farmer experiences every year. Harvest is the only income that a farmer receives throughout the entire year. In my household my dad usually gets from Mid December until about March off. Let me clarify off means that he isn’t putting in 17 hours days 7 days a week in the field. He simply is working in the shop, caring for equipment, or hauling grain. It seems that when it comes to farming something can always be done. Regardless what time of year it is the work never seems to stop coming. This also is exciting because I finally get my fiancé back. He has been living with my family the last few months farming with my father. He mostly enjoys driving the Semi hauling grain to wherever it needs to go for the day. Sean is just getting an idea of the family business so he knows what he is getting into. Plus what is better than having his future father in law chewing him out on a daily basis ;).  I went home to visit for the weekend, and our Saturday night date consisted of us riding in the semi together until after midnight. He never had time to eat so I ran into town bringing him a greasy dinner.

   None of the men seem to stop working for about anything. When I am home I try to bring the guys lunch every day. They never stop to go into town, and eat. They would rather work around the clock to get the crops out of the field. This year is rained a numerous amount of times. This of course meant no one could get in the field to work. The closer we were to December the more stressed out my father seemed to get. We want all of our crops out before the snow it always is a race against the clock. We ended up having a much better crop than expected. This summer was extremely dry, and we feared the worst for the crops. My fiancé should be coming back to Missouri this week, and life is good. I can only thank the lord for watching over my family another years.

Leave a Reply

